Unlock the Hidden Language of Your Child's Heart

Explore the Journey of Patience, Understanding, and Healing in Parenthood!

Hello dear readers,

Have you ever noticed your child...

... gazing at you when you're reprimanding them, their mind seemingly in another universe?

... falling silent when you expected a response?

... fidgeting nervously, their hands betraying their uncertainty about a mistake they made?

These are some of the things my eldest daughter, Big A, does when she finds herself in a challenging situation she's been part of. It's a stark reminder of a younger version of myself, many years ago.

I used to find these reactions frustrating, but I've since taken a step back to see the bigger picture. With a deep breath, I often remind myself, "I used to be like that, I used to be like that, I used to be like that. And I turned out just fine."

But looking back, I realize I could have turned out even better if I had people around me who truly understood. It's not that the adults in my childhood didn't try their best, but they weren't always aware of certain nuances. So, I'm determined to do better for Big A.

When our children freeze or stare blankly, it's not a conscious choice. When they fall silent in response to questions, their minds can resemble a vast void or a chaotic whirlwind.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

What children like that often need is not discipline but a big hug and an abundance of patience. Yes, they might seem to bounce back as if nothing happened, but beneath that exterior lies an internal world of self-blame and a quest for redemption.

Are you grappling with these challenges as a parent, caregiver, or educator? Know that this is a safe space where we can engage in honest conversations. Feel free to leave a comment on my socials, DM me or you can even email me if you need support.

Let's navigate this journey together

With warmth and mindfulness,

Michelle Lim | Founder of The MindFull Parent

Michelle Lim | Mother of 3 | Multi-Coach | Author | Preschool Educator | Baby Whisperer | Breastfeeding Mentor

If you have enjoyed my work and wish to support what I do, please consider buying me a coffee!

-Or-

πŸ—žοΈπŸ‘‰ Refer your friends to sign up for the newsletter here! πŸ‘ˆπŸ—žοΈ

-Or-

πŸ’Œ Send me an email at [email protected] πŸ’Œ

πŸ’‘ For more useful tips and resources go to our website The MindFull Parent 

Follow The MindFull Parent on Instagram and Facebook!

You can also follow Michelle’s story about her chaotic yet loving parenting journey and other adventures on her Instagram and TikTok.

Reply

or to participate.