• The MindFull Parent
  • Posts
  • ๐ŸŒŸ Embracing the Beauty of Second Chances in Parenthood! ๐Ÿ’–

๐ŸŒŸ Embracing the Beauty of Second Chances in Parenthood! ๐Ÿ’–

Join this Heartfelt Journey of Love, Lasts, and Cherished Moments! ๐Ÿš€

Hello MindFull Parents,

In the journey of life, there often comes a moment that takes us by surprise, fills our hearts with wonder, and deepens the colors of our existence. For me, that moment arrived when I welcomed my second child into this world.

I was 26, nearly 27, when I cradled my first daughter (Big A) in my arms. In the blink of an eye, at 28, she arrived, my second precious daughter (Small A). The timing brought its own set of challenges, as the age gap between the two of them was quite close. I found myself navigating the early years with two little ones in tow, a journey that came bundled with postpartum depression and the quick decay of my first marriage. But that story, my dear readers, is one for another newsletter.

Amid the whirlwind of those days, I was exhausted, utterly worn out. Yet, within that exhaustion, within those challenging moments, I discovered a beautiful experience. Small A to me, became a beacon of love, teaching me that love knows no bounds, no limits.

2018: Small A just turned one year old.

Small A may be the younger sibling, and indeed, all the "firsts" were claimed by her older sister. We, as parents, celebrated their first steps, their first words, and their first day of school. But for Small A, she brought something equally magical into my life.

My youngest has gifted me all my "lastsโ€. She gifts me the privilege of witnessing the joy of "last first stepsโ€, "last first wordsโ€, and "last first days of schoolโ€. It's a unique and precious gift, one that carries its own kind of wonder and enchantment. I may have already celebrated these milestones with your older sister, but I cherish them as if they were the very first once again.

Six years have drifted by like a gentle breeze, and this time next year, Small A will be stepping into the world of Primary School. Parenthood, I've come to realize, is a bittersweet journey. The days may seem long, but the years are fleeting.

Small A and Big A over a 5 year span.

Have any other parents felt this way before? It's a complex, bittersweet feeling. How can I describe it? It's a blend of "I wish you would grow up so I can catch my breath" and yet, secretly, a longing for time to stand still, for we know that soon there won't be small ones to hold onto anymore.

If you find yourself relating to these mixed emotions, know that you are not alone. This is just another phase in the intricate mosaic of parenthood. We must be mindful of our own emotions as we navigate this journey alongside our children.

Join the Workshop!

Let's continue this conversation at our upcoming Mindful Parenting Workshop! Join us for an enriching experience where you can learn practical strategies to navigate unique reactions in children and create an environment of understanding and support. Don't miss out on this opportunity to connect with like-minded parents and experts.

Early bird prices are only available until 25 October 2023!

4 November 2023 | 10:00am - 11:45am - Mark your calendar and be part of a transformative parenting journey!

With warmth and mindfulness,

Michelle Lim | Founder of The MindFull Parent

Michelle Lim | Mother of 3 | Multi-Coach | Author | Preschool Educator | Baby Whisperer | Breastfeeding Mentor

If you have enjoyed my work and wish to support what I do, please consider buying me a coffee!

-Or-

๐Ÿ—ž๏ธ๐Ÿ‘‰ Refer your friends to sign up for the newsletter here! ๐Ÿ‘ˆ๐Ÿ—ž๏ธ

-Or-

๐Ÿ’Œ Send me an email at [email protected] ๐Ÿ’Œ

๐Ÿ’ก For more useful tips and resources go to our website The MindFull Parent 

(Under Development)

Follow The MindFull Parent on Instagram and Facebook!

You can also follow Michelleโ€™s story about her chaotic yet loving parenting journey and other adventures on her Instagram and TikTok.

Reply

or to participate.